20130628172140-bella3

Crossing The Arctic Circle: Sharing a photo journey with other daydreamers

Three weeks ago I resigned from my job to follow my passion for photography. This is my first project and with your help I hope to share it with others!

 

 

 

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/crossing-the-arctic-circle-sharing-a-photo-journey-with-other-daydreamers/x/4210124

About the Crossing The Arctic Circle (and me) :

I am Thomas Moon – a professional landscape photographer, avid explorer, and newly “ex-corporate” wilderness lover. After over a year of planning and overcoming a bit of fear, I took the leap last week to follow a new path and pursue my passion for landscape photography. Since this passion took hold in 2008, I have traveled over 200,000 miles exploring distant places around North America. Photographing nature and being in the wild has always excited me and I love sharing distant places with others. I am working hard to transition my career into photography with this first project and together we will be helping wilderness conservation groups with a portion of the proceeds from the project. I have saved up some money to get me started, but I can’t do this without your help.

Last week, the chains from my cubicle wall were officially unshackled and I have been working feverishly since to start this project! I would LOVE for you to come along on this journey with me so that I can share the experience with as many people as possible and help protect the environment for other nature lovers. Five percent of all proceeds will go to the Alaska Conservation Foundation (alaskaconservation.org) and Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society (cpaws.org) to help support efforts to protect the wilderness there for future generations.

In return for your contribution, I will be sharing blog updates and digital galleries along the way, as well as other unique photo perks below. Your support will make this project a reality!

For Updates on Crossing the Arctic Circle, including a photo journal, please visit my other page at

https://tom-moon.squarespace.com/

  • Digital Gallery: samples

  • 16×20 Wood Panel w/ High Gloss Finish

Come Along For The Adventure!

Crossing the Arctic Circle is a 45 day photo project about exploring the vast stretches of untouched wilderness in Alaska and Northwestern Canada and sharing the experience with photo enthusiasts, wanderers and daydreamers at heart. I will be shooting with a Canon Rebel and a GigapanPro to take panoramic shots. This adventure will encompass pictures from British Columbia, Yukon, and Northwest Territories in Canada, all the way above the Arctic Circle to Prudhoe Bay, Alaska on the Beaufort Sea.

This project is the first part of a series that will also encompass many of the National Parks in Canada including Banff, Gros Morne (Newfoundland) and the Gaspe Peninsula in Quebec later this summer/fall.

  • This journey is extremely important to me because it represents a gigantic shift in my life – from working in Corporate America and leaving a steady pay check, to following my passion for landscape photography and sharing it with people like you. The project coincides with my 30th birthday, a self-imposed deadline I gave myself to take this leap.
  • My goal is to visit some of the more remote parks in Alaska – by way of car, plane, ferry, and on foot. I will be traveling through Wrangell-Elias National Park, Denali National Park, Gates of the Arctic National Park, Kenai Fjords, and Kluane National Park (Canada), at a minimum. Photos from all locations will be shared in an online blog during and after the trip, as well as separate online galleries of landscape and panoramic images. Perks for larger contributions will include 8×10 and 16×20 prints on stained/sanded wood panels.
  • Between Fairbanks, AK north to Prudhoe Bay, I will be traveling on the Dalton Highway which is among the most desolate and northern most roads in the world. The road meanders about 500 miles through the Arctic Circle. The journey to Gates of the Arctic National Park will involve a 10 plus mile hike into the park from this highway.
  • The trek to Wrangell Elias National Park will share scenes from the area that has one of the largest collections of 14,000 ft. peaks in North America. If this projected is fully funded, I will also be sharing photos from Katmai and Lake Clark National Parks which will involve flying above and landing somewhere in both parks.

Note: I have already completed one portion of the project in early July, traveling up the Dempster Highway in Yukon and Northwest Territories to Canada’s northernmost city, Inuvik. This was an epic journey and the most beautiful place I have been to date. (Pictures directly below)

What We Need & What You Get

The total budget for this project including incurred costs to date and money from my savings = $7,050

  • $80 US National Park Pass and $70 Canadian National Park Pass
  • $1500 from my own budget to defray some of the photo making costs
  • $500 supplies to prep for production include the following:

Plywood, canvas, stain for wood panels, resin for finish, blowtorch for removing bubbles from resin, paint brushes, industrial powered saw to cut wood to size.

Projected Expenses:

  • Gas costs for 12,000 + miles of driving = $2,000 or more
  • Airplane and ferry costs once in Alaska = $1,200 or more

This is a low end estimate. Average costs for a 90-180 min flightseeing tour are between $400 and $800 per person and $200-300 for ferry travel per person. This expense will include flightseeing tours and stops in Katmai, Lake Clark, and summit to Mt. McKinley in Denali National Park – places that cannot be reached by car.

  • 3% Credit Card fee = $200
  • Contribution to Environment Groups = $250 or more
  • 4-9% Indiegogo Fee = $270-600 ($450 avg)
  • Shipping Costs to mail photo books, wood panels, canvas prints = $300 or more (low end)

This is a low end estimate. Books can be shipped media mail, but wood panels costs about 300% more to ship.

  • Professional carpentry work spent creating perks = $500

This includes time spent sanding, cutting, and staining wood for panels as well as mounting photos to the panels. I will be hiring someone to do this work as I work on the photo editing, panoramic creation, and photo book creation.

If I don’t reach the goal amount of $7050, the funds will go to a more limited project throughout Alaska and would likely forgo some of the most remote photography locations such as the Aleutian Islands, Lake Clark and Katmai National Parks. An incredible photo book would still be made along will all other perks and I would instead create the perks primarily on the journey into Gates of the Arctic National Park, Denali National Park, and Wrangell-Elias National Park, all of which can be done with a lesser budget.

Thank you for your support! See you on the road.

-Tom

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/crossing-the-arctic-circle-sharing-a-photo-journey-with-other-daydreamers/x/4210124

